Study God's Word to know Him better


Hi there! How is your day going? I love fall and the beautiful colors of the changing leaves. I feel it is a gift from God as we head into winter. It’s like He is saying, “Don’t forget me when things get cold and days gloomy. I will still be here painting your life with vivid color if you just look around and see it.”

Our dear Pastor Randy Mitrovich taught on complaining and gratitude last Sunday. I can so be like those grumbling Israelites who were not happy with the bounty God provided and wanted more. Instead of seeing all that God has provided I focus on something I think I am missing. Today, I am so very grateful for the freedom I have to study God’s Word and to blog my thoughts about what I see. Thank you God for the awesome freedom I have! Let’s open Psalm 10 and see what we can find about who our God is, what He likes and doesn’t like, who we are in Him, all in the desire to grow in knowing Him.

Psalm 10
In verse 1 we see that at times it seems God is far away. Do you feel like that today? We all do at times. Its like, where are you God! Don’t you see what is happening? Why aren’t you doing anything? David felt God was hiding Himself just when David needed Him.

Verses 2-13 are all about what happens when we let our focus stray from God and His truths. I find myself here way more than I should be at this stage in my walk with God. If fits right in with complaining and grumbling because it is looking at the circumstances around us that seem to contradict the truth that God will never leave us or forsake us. We see these things everyday on the news or in our own lives personally. Evil is alive and well. The bad guy seems to be winning. The shifty co-worker who puts in minimal hours but gets the same pay when we work late every night doing the job to the best of our ability. The boastful guy or gal who seem to fit verse 5-6, “His ways are always prosperous; he is haughty and Your laws are far from him; he sneers al all his enemies. He says to himself, ‘Nothing will shake me; I’ll always be happy and never have trouble.'” Yep! We all know some of these people.

Finally in Verses 14-18 David takes his eyes off the circumstances and voices his faith in who his god is:

  • verse 14 “you, O God, do see trouble and grief; you consider it to take it in hand….You are the helper of the fatherless.”
  • Verse 16 “The Lord is King for ever and ever;”
  • Verse 17 & 18  “You hear, O Lord, the desire of the afflicted; you encourage them, and you listen to their cry, defending the fatherless and the oppressed.

He wraps up this Psalm with why God does this. “In order that man, who is of the earth, may terrify now more.” What are your fears my precious friend? What is terrifying you? Take your eyes off of the pain, suffering and terrifying things in your life and open God’s Word and see more clearly who He is. He is there! He cares! He will take care of it! It may not be how you think it should be or in the time frame you would choose but make no mistake, if you ask Him to be involved and allow Him to be the loving, faithful God He is, you can rest in His peace as you trust in Him.

I am blessed and grateful to have studied with you today. What did God give you in Psalm 10? May our God who is faithful allow us to soar with Him until the next time.

Leave a comment