Study God's Word to know Him better

Ezra 1


I am so excited to begin this journey with you! We will be going through the book of Ezra at whatever pace God leads us. I am not in a hurry and I don’t want to miss anything God has for us to learn about who He is in it. I so want to keep growing in knowing God and that is the only goal we have in this study. We are reading God’s Word to see what it says about Him. Let’s get going!!!

It is so interesting to me that God chose to move the heart of Cyrus, this pagan king of Persia, before He moved the hearts of His people. Verse 1 tells us that in order to fulfill the word of the Lord spoken to Jeremiah He moved the heart of king Cyrus. This tells me that God’s Word will be fulfilled and He uses not just His people but others to see that it is. I always think of God using those who belong to Him to do His work. Maybe I need to take Him out of the box I have Him in and realize that all belong to Him and are used by Him whether they acknowledge Him and know Him as their God or not. Have I somehow placed limitations on Him without really realizing it? Have I somehow felt He is looking for those who
belong to Him because He needs them to get His work accomplished? I need to really think about this. Somewhere as my knowledge of Him has developed I got the idea that if I didn’t live my life according to His plan something, some part of His will, wouldn’t happen. Could it be that He is bringing about His perfect plan for my life because His will will be done and He will use whomever and whatever it takes to accomplish that. Could the mentality that I somehow control it by my choices be that ages old sin way down deep that I want to be god of my life? I don’t want to believe it but is it my sin that thinks somehow I am in control instead of God?

Oh, dear Lord, please forgive me but in the struggle of trying to trust you fully in recent events in my life and my continuing to try to figure out how to fix it or how you should fix it and taking responsibility for things that are not mine but yours I feel this could be truth in my life. The one thing I want as I study your Word is that the Holy Spirit guide me to the truth of who you are and who I am in you. Forgive my sin Lord. Cleanse me through the blood of Jesus my Lord and Savior. Fill me with your Holy Spirit to overflowing that you may be glorified in my life.

I trust that as you study this book of Ezra God will reveal Himself fully and clearly to you! What did He reveal to you in this first verse? I know He has something special just for you. I want to hear about it! Much love! God bless you and yours!

Leave a Reply

