Study God's Word to know Him better


I am blown away when I read this section of scripture at the love, mercy, gentleness and care of my God. They had just ruined all He had planned for them. They had failed to see how very much his rules about the trees were out of love and concern for their well being. They had been having perfect communion with God since their creation and yet didn’t know His will, devised out of His pure and perfect love, was a blessing. They had just believed saten over Him and chose death over eternal life with God. Yet I don’t see God blaming or accusing instead He just asks them what happened.

We know He knew exactly where they were at when they tried to hide from Him. When God said in verse 9, “Where are you?,” does it hold as much meaning to you as it does to me? I feel God wasn’t talking about their physical position. I think He was going much deeper than that. Doesn’t He do that with us at times? I can almost hear Him at times saying, “Carol, where are you?” There are times when I have been merrily going my own way and doing my own thing and suddenly my attitude is on the ground and I am so far removed from Who I am in Christ I don’t even know who I am. You too?

When Adam responds that when He heard God he was afraid because he was naked so he hid, what did our loving God feel. I think it tore His heart in two! He had created them and loved them and spent time with them and now they were afraid of Him! To me the greatest hurt must have been they just really didn’t know how very much He loved them. Love has been replaced by fear and not a healthy fear of the Lord as in respect for who He is but Adam had expressed that upon hearing God walking in the garden He was afraid. Adam was afraid because he was naked (verse 10.) He had sinned and was no longer perfect and innocent. It had skewed his perception of who he was. The guilt and shame had made him feel that though this was about an internal choice it affected all of him including his external naked body. God in His love and patience says, “Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree that I commanded you not to eat from?”

Now starts the blame game. Adam blames Eve and so God asks Eve, “What is this you have done?” Eve’s response was, “The serpent deceived me, and I ate.” God starts with questioning Adam, then goes on to get Eve’s side of it but when He gives the consequences He starts with saten. God knows it all. He saw it all unfold. Nothing takes Him by surprise. Even dealing with saten He hears all of their side. The only one He doesn’t question or ask his side is saten. He knows this enemy and his hate for God and those He loves. He doesn’t have to ask him why. He is the deceiver and father of lies. If saten was proud of what he had accomplished he was soon to understand God was the victor now and forever.

What better time than Christmas as we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior to see the first mention of Him in scripture. Verse 15b says, “And I will put enmity between you and the woman, and between your offspring and hers; he will crush your head and you will strike his heel.” Saten was given the death sentence right there at his first temptation of mankind. Though he continues to tempt us and deceive and lie to us, he is a defeated foe. Christ did come and saten had his chance to strike his heel on the cross. He came and died for all of our sins and was resurrected to sit as our advocate in heaven. When we are deceived or choose to sin He is there saying to saten the accuser who is pointing it out, I died for that one, my blood has washed her/him white as snow and she is clean. He will do that until we are perfect and whole in heaven with Him.

Do you have that assurance? Have you accepted His free gift of salvation and eternal life? If not, don’t waste another minute of fearing what God thinks of you and the choices you have made. Pick up his Word, get on your knees and talk to Him, call someone who knows Him as Savior and make sure that this Christmas you have the most wonderful gift of all, Jesus Christ! Your life will never be the same my friend! God bless and Merry Christmas to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

