Study God's Word to know Him better

Genesis 3:2-3


The first thing I thought of when I read these two verses was “You go girl!!!”  The serpent tried to cast doubt on the truth of God’s words to her and she had no part of it!  When he says, “Did God really say?” she immediately says, “We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, but God did say, ‘You must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die.’” 

I love reading God’s Word and focusing on only a verse or two.  I know you have to be careful not to take it out of context but sometimes taking a close up look allows God to also show me even more clearly who He is.  When I have read this chapter of Genesis before, I have put all of the blame on that old deceiving serpent.  Yes, I know that Eve disobeyed God and she shouldered the responsibility of that decision but I focused on how the serpent deceived poor Eve.  Today in her answer I see very clearly that though saten tried to cast doubt about what God had said she knew exactly what God had said.  No where here does the Word say that Eve had second thoughts about what God had said or meant when He said it. 

So what do I learn about God in verses 2 & 3?  I see that He is a God who states clearly to us how to live.  He doesn’t speak in confusing ways that leave any wiggle room for us when saten comes tempting. If we listen and pay attention He gives us what we need to know and the consequences of not doing it.  We can blame that old serpent with the “devil made me do it” mentality if we want but it is bogus.  The truth of the matter is it is our responsibility to be in God’s Word and know what He wants us to do and how He wants us to live and believe those things are for our own good.  We need to take responsibility as to who is really responsible when we sin.  We are and no one else.  I am so very thankful for my awesome loving God who gave His only begotten Son that all who believe shall not die but have eternal life. (John 3:16) That was His unselfish sacrifice for Eve’s decision that day in chapter 3 and it is His unselfish sacrifice for the decisions I make that need His forgiveness.

Let’s continue on in this chapter.  As painful as it is it is such an important part of God’s Word and such an important part of the foundation of His awesome love healing the sin, brokenness and failure in my life and the lives of all who believe.  I look forward to your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

