Study God's Word to know Him better

Genesis 3:1


As we ended chapter 2 of Genesis we ended with the fact that Adam and Eve lived in the Garden of Eden and lived a life of no shame. That still boggles my mind! I think shame has colored my life in ways I am only beginning to comprehend at age 64.  I think it does in many people’s lives.  In fact one of the biggest lies of saten the deceiver is we should feel ashamed.  Oh for sure there are many things in my life that would give me great cause for shame but when I allow the shame of past, present or future sins to keep me wallowing in shame and self degradation I am missing out on the free gift of grace and forgiveness that accompanied Christ’s death of the cross for me.  There is a difference between shame and the conviction by the Holy Spirit of sin in my life.  I have a God who loves me totally and all He wants to do when I have sinned is forgive me and allow us to start fresh.  He doesn’t want one drop of His precious Son’s blood to be wasted!  He wants us to be free to be all He has planned!  What an awesome God we serve!!!

Ok!  I know I have to move on to chapter 3 and today and I think I am stalling.  I hate what saten did in the garden to Adam and Eve as much as I hate what He tries to do to us today.  I am only going to look at verse 1.  “Now the serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals the Lord God had made.”

Smith’s Bible Name Dictionary on Biblegateway.com on serpent:

“The Hebrew word nachash is the generic name of any serpent. The following are the principal biblical allusions to this animal its subtlety is mentioned in (Genesis 3:1) its wisdom is alluded to by our Lord in (Matthew 10:18) the poisonous properties of some species are often mentioned, see (Psalms 58:4; Proverbs 25:32) the sharp tongue of the serpent is mentioned in (Psalms 140:3; Job 20:16) the habit serpents have of lying concealed in hedges and in holes of walls is alluded to in (Ecclesiastes 10:8) their dwelling in dry sandy places, in (8:10) their wonderful mode of progression did not escape the observation of the author of (Proverbs 30:1) … who expressly mentions it as “one of the three things which were too wonderful for him.” ver.. The art of taming and charming serpents is of great antiquity, and is alluded to in (Psalms 58:5; Ecclesiastes 10:11; Jeremiah 8:17) and doubtless intimated by St. James, (James 3:7) who particularizes serpents among all other animals that “have been tamed by man.” It was under the form of a serpent that the devil seduced Eve; hence in Scripture Satan is called “the old serpent.” (Revelation 12:9) and comp. Cor 11:3 Hence, as a fruit of the tradition of the Fall, the serpent all through the East became the emblem of the spirit of evil, and is so pictured even on the monuments of Egypt.”

The word crafty in verse one from the College Press NIV Commentary online (I just googled, Hebrew word for crafty and got it.)

“The Hebrew word arum is translated crafty (NIV) but is used elsewhere in the Old Testament in a positive sense of wisdom or adroitness.  The implication seems to be that the perpetrator of the Fall, the serpent, tempts the original human pair to try to find wisdom without God.”

So, what does all of that tell us about God?  Does it feel a bit like after creating them He just stepped away?  Where is God when that crafty old serpent was talking to Eve?  He said to her, “Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden’?”  Was our omnipotent God watching?  Did the crafty serpent get the best of God? That doesn’t sound like my God to me. He told Joshua in Joshua 1:9, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”  I believe He was right there all the time. That crafty old serpent was deceiving His beloved child and I know my God well enough from experience and His Word of truth that He didn’t take His eyes off Eve and miss the exchange.  We know the story so well…did it break His heart or was He already setting in motion how He was going to save them from this huge mistake that not only affected them but also all future generations.    

Well, we will look a bit further into chapter 3 next time.  I would love to hear what you see in Genesis 3:1 about our awesome God.

Leave a Reply

