Study God's Word to know Him better

Genesis 2:15


Lord, today I look at this next section after you created the Garden of Eden. I can’t help but think as I read it that when you created that beautiful place you had a plan to put man there to live. You created this place of such amazing beauty for Adam to enjoy as he lived each day with you. You also in placing him there had a purpose for his existence. You didn’t create us just to take up space or to be just one of so many humans but have purposed what you have for us to do. For Adam it was to, “work it (Eden) and take care of it.” When you placed Adam there you had a job for him. He would work the garden and had the responsibility of taking care of it.

Thank you God, that you have a plan and purpose for our lives. I love Jeremiah 29:11-13:
“For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord. Plans to proper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.”

Though this was for the nation of Israel, I believe it shows your heart my precious God for all mankind. I know your plan for us is a good one. I know it is your heart’s desire that we talk to you and come before you wanting to know you with all our hearts. I know that you, the God of creation who spoke the world in place, want us to know you and want to reveal yourself to us. I know that, because of this journey you and I have been on for 50 years now. You have revealed yourself to me over and over again in mighty and small ways. Thank you that you allow me the awesome privilege of loving and being loved by you. Thank you for the peace and assurance I have that we have an eternity to love each other. Thank you that you allow me to do things with you that I could never do on my own. Thank you for making me so aware that though in the world I live in I am but a tiny speck to you my precious God I am your beloved child. I stand in awe of you today! You take my breath away and bring me to tears. I so love you!

Lord, I also look today at the fact that you did not just gift Adam with the garden and a job but you would hold him accountable. He had the responsibility of looking after what you had given him. This makes me stop and think about my life and how I am accountable to you for those things you have given me. You know how very much I love my family, friends and the other blessings you have given me. I want to be sure that I am taking care of them and my sphere of living in a way that pleases you my God. I want to keep in touch with you daily and I pray that you make me very aware of the things I need to do better or differently. Thank you that you won’t allow me to be a spoiled selfish child but love me enough to expect me to live my life in a way that pleases you. Thank you that though I can’t do it alone I can do all things in Christ who strengthens me. I love you Lord! Thank you for the blessings of being able to see you ever more clearly as we continue to study your Word.

I would love to hear what God is doing in the lives of those who may read this today. Please share what God gives you from this verse in Genesis or where you are reading today.

Leave a Reply

