Study God's Word to know Him better

Genesis 2:8-14


Dear Lord, as I read the description of the Garden of Eden it sounds amazing!  Here are a few of the beautiful descriptions:

  • The Lord God planted a garden – it had your personal touch.  You Lord, the master gardener planted it.
  • The Lord God made all kinds of trees grow out of the ground that were pleasing to the eye and good for food.
  • In the middle of the garden was the tree of life and the tree of the knowledge of good and evil.
  • A river that watered the garden flowed from Eden and from there was separated into four headwaters.  The four were Pishon (winds through Havilah), Gihon (winds through Cush, Tigris (runs along the east side of Asshur and the Euphrates.

What an amazing place this must have been.  Just knowing what I see now of creation and its beauty I can’t even imagine how beautiful this must have been!  Full of trees that were both beautiful and had not just food to eat but good food.  You are the God of perfection so I know this had to be a wonderful garden.

Lord, as I look at these verses I am awed again at your love in creating this world we live in and the love you displayed in providing not just needs but beautiful things to see and to taste.  I love trees and rivers and fresh fruit.  As I let my mind try to imagine it I see beautiful lush green trees and plants, sparkling clean water, fruit so abundant and delicious with no pesticides or chemicals to change them and prolong their life.  They would be readily available to just reach up and pick them off.  I think of sitting on the bank of the river talking to you and basking in your loving communion.

Thank you Lord, that I have this today.  Not in the Garden of Eden but right here this morning at my computer.  As I open your Word I feel your presence and love as I read about this beautiful place you created.  Thank you for being a loving God who is hands on with creating this world I live in.  Thank you for providing not just my needs but an abundance in my beautiful family, friends I love, my home, my church and the rest of what makes up my life.  Life has its ups and downs but through it all you are my ever present, loving, kind, able to do all things God.  I am truly a blessed woman Lord!  I love you so!

Comments on: "Genesis 2:8-14" (3)

  1. This section on the garden reminded me of your comment on God as the gardener. I think of you and your great veggies and gardens through the years. So blessed to have your friendship and partner in study. Love you!

  2. I think about it and wonder if God planted in rows… or did He scatter everything around and let the trees and veggies grow where they wanted. I think that my veggies grow willy nilly in the field. Some come up and some decide to plant themselves somewhere else where they might like it the conditions better. Like my potatoes have tomatoes volunteers just sprouting up…its crazy!!
    I wonder about stuff like that
    have a great evening!!

  3. I wonder too? Did He speak them into place fully grown at first? I can’t imagine them all growing from seed the first time but won’t it be fun to ask Him when we get there? Your garden sounds wonderful Ronni! I would love to be surprised by things popping up! Love you!

Leave a Reply

