Study God's Word to know Him better


Dear Lord, I feel we are not quite through with Genesis. Since it is the beginning of the story so to speak, I feel we haven’t looked at who you are through the scriptures of the details of the creation of Adam and Eve, your provision for them, the beginning directions you gave them for living in relation to the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, etc. We need to look at the fall of man and the entrance of sin in the world and who you are in regard to that. Then of course we need to look at who you are through looking at our first glimpses in your Word of our precious Lord Jesus and about Saten (I know, I purposely refuse to spell it correctly) the evil one, deceiver, liar and defeated one who is still in our world today. Since all through the scriptures from Genesis to Revelation there is God, man, Saten and your provision for redemption and restoration after the fall.

So my precious God, teach me as we go through these scriptures together. Reveal more fully who you are. Allow me to know you better and to see your character more clearly. I pray that anyone who might join us feel free to examine these scriptures and post their comments on who they see you to be in them. It is always a blessing to share with others what you give each of us separately as we study. It just expands our knowledge of who you are. Your will Lord whether I study only with you or others join us. I just love being in your Word with you and am so blessed to know you love being there with me too!

Genesis 2:4-7

This gives more detail Lord as to when you created Adam. Verse 4 wraps up the creation of the heavens and earth. I love that what I see about you is you assure us that this is the way you created it. You spoke and it was! Verse 4a says “This is the account of the heavens and the earth when they were created.” In other words it underscores chapter 1 and 2:1-3 as truth.

Verse 4b-7 tells in more detail about when and how you created man. Some of those details of when in the creation process it took place I have listed below:

  • No shrub of the field had yet appeared on the earth
  • No plant of the field had yet sprung up because you had not sent rain to the earth yet and there was no man to work the ground

Verse 7 gives more detail as to how you created Adam. “The Lord God formed the man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.

Oh, dear Lord. What I see today from these scriptures is that you are a God who plans and times things perfectly. You created man and then created plants and shrubs and a purpose for his life, to work the ground. I see that where you spoke and all of creation came to be it was different with man. You could have spoken and created Adam but you didn’t. You formed him with your very hands. You took the dust of the earth and shaped and made him just as you wanted him to be. And you still do that Lord! Psalm 139:13-14 says, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Lord, I too know from this scripture in Genesis that you created us differently than the rest of creation. You touched man personally as you created every detail by hand. Then Lord you went even further and breathed your very own breath into his nostrils and gave him life! Lord how can we not feel loved by you? How can we ever feel you don’t care? How can we doubt that our existence is important to you? These scriptures of the creation of man and the care you took, the personal touch and giving your very own God breath to give us life screams your love for us.

Dear, dear Lord. I so love you! Thank you that you are a hands on God. Thank you that you give of yourself for us to live. Thank you that you took dust and created a masterpiece that was fearfully and wonderfully made. Then you breathed your very life into man. You are an amazing God! I stand in awe of you today. It is so humbling to realize that I am but dust. It is the power of your mighty touch and breath that give me life. Thank you my precious God! Thank you!

Comments on: "Staying in Genesis for now" (2)

  1. Very well said Miss Carol!!

    • So glad you are studying Genesis with me Ronni. I love how clearly God tells us who He is in His Word. So hard to imagine that God who spoke the world into being wants a relationship with me! It is so huge! Love you!

Leave a Reply

