Study God's Word to know Him better

Hi Atheist Climber!


Thank you for sharing your blog and your discussion of the fifth day with me. Thank you too for realizing that man’s stupidity in dealing with the environment was not all due to the opening passages of Genesis. Thank you too for allowing me the opportunity to do a closer bit of study on this passage. Since you read my blog you know that my purpose in doing this study was to go through the scriptures to focus on what it says about who God is. In that respect what I feel is missing in the discussion is the heart of God. Has man really screwed up, taken advantage of and been bad stewards of all God provided when He spoke the world in place (yes, I do believe that is exactly how it happened 🙂 ?) Absolutely!!! The original Hebrew word for rule in this passage is radah. It is used 22 times in scripture and often is in regard to relationships between masters and slaves, managers and employees, kings and subjects and shepherds and flocks. One of the ones I felt best showed God’s heart was in Ezekiel 34:4. “You have ruled (radah) them harshly and brutally.” The whole of Ezekiel 34 is about those in authority and God’s judgment on them due to the way they treated those subject to them. Starting in verse 2 He says, “Woe to the shepherds of Israel who only take care of themselves! Should not shepherds take care of the flocks? You eat the curds, clothe yourselves with the wool and slaughter the choice animals, but you do not take care of the flock. You have not strengthened the weak or healed the sick or bound up the injured. You have not brought back the strays or searched for the lost. You have ruled (radah) them harshly and brutally.” This tells me God expects those who have radah to be responsible to what they rule over including the earth and all that is there, people, animals, environment.

 I was so sad to see the posts that knew of Christians who said they weren’t concerned with the earth because Jesus was coming back. I do not know one Christian who believes that. Yes, I believe Jesus is coming back and I believe one of the things He will hold mankind accountable for is how responsibly we have radah in each of our realms of authority. I so desire that all my future generations will have this beautiful planet He created to live and thrive on. Thank you again! Your comment and blog have made me think of places I fall short and need to improve upon in order to have that be. I really enjoyed your joining us and look forward to studying God’s Word with you again!

Leave a Reply

